Let there be peace on earth

A few months ago, I started a new prayer practice, based on a suggestion by Pope Francis. In addition to the 3rd and 7th step prayers, I was to pray for peace on earth at specifically 1pm every day. This goes along with the 11th step prayers and practice, and I decided to make this small change.


I set an alarm on my phone, and proceeded. With my phone, I can use songs as alarms, and I chose “Jesus take the wheel” as my first song. Over time, I switched out songs, and eventually settled on Vince Gill’s “Let there be peace on earth.” 

I have noticed a major change as I have been doing this prayer. When the alarm goes off, regardless of what I am doing, I simply ask God for peace on earth. Sometimes, I sing the songs I use as an alarm, sometimes I just spend the moment in silent prayer while the music plays.

The major change relates back to my personality, and it goes into my sobriety life as well. I am less angry. I am much less angry. I also am much more polite. I am learning about who God wants me to be, versus who I wanted to be all those years ago. I am changing, becoming much more laid back and relaxed.

All from some simple prayer.

That feels good. 

Thank You for reading, if you have any questions, please leave a comment below.